Similar to previous International Conferences, elections were held during the 32nd International Conference of the Red Cross and Red Crescent to choose five National Society representatives for the Standing Commission of the Red Cross and Red Crescent.

New Standing Commission members

  • Massimo Barra, Italian Red Cross
  • Chrystold Chetty, Red Cross Society of Seychelles
  • Eva von Oelreich, Swedish Red Cross
  • Greg Vickery, Australian Red Cross
  • George Weber, Canadian Red Cross Society

The Standing Commission is the trustee of the International Conference between conferences (the Movement’s highest deliberative body). It also provides strategic guidance for all components of the Movement. It is the only permanent body of the Movement which is represented by all three components of the Movement and which meets on a regular basis.

The Standing Commission consists of two members from the International Committee of Red Cross (ICRC) – the ICRC President and the ICRC Deputy Director-General, two from the International Federation of the Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies (IFRC) –  the IFRC President and the IFRC Secretary General – and five elected members from the National Societies. The elections for the five National Society members are held every four years at the International Conference.